Sometimes you may need to change default permissions for all users. Instead of creating a super-role that all roles are a member of, you can instead edit the "Everyone" role directly.
The "Everyone" role is a special sort of role. You won't find it listed in any user's "Member of" panel, nor will you find it in the Role Manager at all. Yet it is the root of all users' security settings:
You can only find the "Everyone" role in the security editor:
Each domain also has its own "Everyone" role (e.g. sitecore\Everyone, extranet\Everyone), which you can edit to set default permissions for users in that domain.
There you have it! Be sure that you are properly copying your roles to production as well.
- To set the default permissions for all users, edit the "Everyone" role in the Security Editor.
- To set the default permissions for all users in a domain, edit the "domain\Everyone" role (where "domain" is the domain in question).